Free Ekpar Apirl 7.png

Free Ekpar: Commemorating Five Years of Enforced Disappearance


12:00 PM (Eastern Standard Time) April 07, 2021



Join Rayhan Asat (Harvard Law School ‘16) in commemorating the fifth anniversary of her brother Ekpar’s unjust imprisonment by the Chinese government. Speakers include Sophie Richardson (Human Rights Watch), Thor Halvorssen (President of the Human Rights Foundation), Irwin Cotler (Raoul Wallenberg Center), and Professor Gregory Niemeyer (University Of California, Berkeley). Burst the Bubble UK, a youth advocacy organization, and LyLena Estabine (Harvard College) will be presenting live special tributes. Additionally, Senator Chris Coons and former Dean of Harvard Law School Martha Minow will also deliver pre-recorded messages. We hope that you will join us in calling for Ekpar’s release and shedding light on the Crimes against Humanity facing Uyghur people.

This event is co-sponsored by the Human Rights Foundation, the Raoul Wallenberg Center, the Jewish Movement for Uyghur Freedom, the Trebuchet, Harvard Law School Advocates for Human Rights, and Harvard Jewish Law Students Association.

                             Senator Chris Coons' commitment to bring Ekpar to home 

A tribute from UK youth group Burst the Bubble